Weaving Gold

Mokosha, Anastasia Sophia, and Me, Natalia . . . while the books are written

Discovering Magic through Fiction

on February 10, 2016
Why do you read? I read for entertainment and education, to validate my views — with the option to shift or change or invalidate them, to discover new worlds and viewpoints, and for delight and pleasure. In a nutshell:

I read to expand my awareness. I write for the same reason.

Books and stories open worlds. I love discovering new ideas through biographies, factual and scientific reading, and through fiction. Recently, I’ve been particularly enjoying books categorized as magical realism — serious magic, presented as real. I love contemplating, What if . . . 

In celebration a favorite author‘s book release this week (The Witches of Cambridge), I am sharing quotes from Menna van Praag’s previous book, Dress Shop of Dreams, the story of a woman whose gowns have the power to free a woman’s deepest desires.

Walt loves Etta’s granddaughter, and owns the bookshop next to Etta’s dress shop. He also, secretly, reads stories on the radio. He doesn’t realize the impact his voice has on his listeners.

Etta said, “Most people think the world we live in is mundane, but you remind us that it’s magical. You wrap reality in the wonder and joy of fiction, until it infuses us and becomes true.”

“Well, I . . .” Walt falters.

Etta smiles. “You’re one of life’s magicians. You simply haven’t realized it yet.”

Dress Shop Quote, Etta to Walt.jpg

Though Walt respects Etta, he can’t quite believe her, so Etta continues:

Unfortunately most magicians are immune to their own magic. We see behind the veil, we live inside the nuts and bolts, the element of surprise is lost on us. But we can help each other.

Do you read magical books or blogs? Encounter magical people? I’d love to hear about them. We can help each other.


 

010516_2129_writersquot1This post is inspired by

Silver Threading #WQW Writer’s Quote Wednesday

Ronowan Writes #BeWoW Be Wonderful on Wednesday; Be Writing on Wednesday

 

15 responses to “Discovering Magic through Fiction

  1. afairymind says:

    I love to both read and write magical stories. 🙂 I hadn’t heard of Menna van Praag – I’ll have to check out some of her books!

    Liked by 1 person

    • If you like magical stories, I think you’ll love Menna’s books. The women and smart and very human. Each book is full of great characters. And magic is ever-present, soft and beautiful. If you read, let me know what you think.

      Like

  2. jazzytower says:

    This sounds like a good one, love the thought of him “reading books on the radio”. Thanks for the introduction.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, WOW! What a great quote! You know I love all this magical! It is true, we are the magicians as writers. It is our slight of our pens that draw the reader in. This is just perfect. I love it. We are channeling magic again! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. […] Discovering Magic through Fiction […]

    Like

Speak, Wise One...

