Weaving Gold

Mokosha, Anastasia Sophia, and Me, Natalia . . . while the books are written

Doing Writing Right

on September 23, 2013

Writer’s Block by =Phatpuppyart Digital Art / Photomanipulation / Emotional©2011-2013 =Phatpuppyart

I’m writing a novel. Except when I’m not — not working on my story, not writing at all.

The phrase, “if you’re not writing…” has been running through my head for months (during which I have not been writing), so I googled the words. Writing bloggers affirmed what my great brain had already gleaned from the collective unconscious:

From Dana Sitar:

You Might Not Be a Writer If…

We hear so often that “to call yourself a writer, all you have to do is write.” Aww. But, the flip side to that feel-good pat on the back is that if you’re not writing, maybe you’re not a fucking writer.

If you have to trick your mind into being ready to write, maybe your mind doesn’t want to write.

If the words don’t come to you, maybe you have nothing to say.

If anything else in your life is holding you back from progressing as a writer, maybe you don’t actually care about that goal.

From Chuck Wendig at Terrible Minds:

Writers: You might be doing it wrong If…

If you think of yourself as “aspiring,” you might be doing it wrong.

If you talk, tweet, think or write about writing more than you actually write: doin’ it wrong.

If you always find an excuse why you’re not writing, then UR DOIN’ IT RONG.

I might not be a writer. I’m doing it wrong. Fortunately, I know practices and tricks that will help me:

  • Write x words every day.
  • Write x minutes every day.
  • Write first thing in the morning.
  • Write at the same time/same place each day.
  • Write whenever and where-ever you can.
  • Make writing a priority.
  • Write. Write. Write.

Writing It My Way

On my Swan Mothers blog, I often write about trusting myself to parent my own way. Of course, I’ve read piles of parenting books. Of course, I am interested in mothers’ blogs and books, in learning about and from others’ experiences. After I read and integrate what they’ve written, I trust myself to do what is right for my children and myself.

If I can trust myself in parenting, I can also trust myself in writing. An apple tree buds and blooms prettily in the spring and produces apples in the fall. But even in the winter, when its branches are bare, when it is not producing anything tangible, it is an apple tree. Dormancy is a phase in the cycle, not sign of failure or ineptitude.

I have been in a phase of dormancy. I don’t want to write. I focus on other life activities. I also have a wonderful story in my head.  53,422 words of Spinning Gold (Book 1) are written. My Scrivener documents for Coming Out of Hiding (Book 2) and Integration (Book 3) are full of notes and started sections. I have not added to these documents in almost three months, but they are dormant, not dead. I will finish putting these stories on (virtual) paper, because I am a writer, doing it my way.

7 responses to “Doing Writing Right

  1. There are many reasons we don’t write, even when we love it.

    Not writing doesn’t mean you’re not a writer, it just means you’re not writing. That’s all. You have to dive deeper to get a better sense of why the words aren’t flowing, and what that’s really saying about your relationship to writing.

    Dormancy, when it comes to writing, doesn’t have a season, but it does has a reason. While trust is a loving and proper response to it, so is inquiry and self-awareness.

    That you’re exploring your creative process means you’re on the right track.

    Keep going… the answers you seek are seeking you.

    Julie

    Like

  2. I always have to fight the panic when I read something that tells me I’m not a writer if I’m not churning out x words a day. I tried daily writing … but I found my heart and soul weren’t in it.

    I’m learning to understand myself and my needs better, and this is what I discovered: My health and energy ebb and flow. This means my creativity also ebbs and flows, depending on what energy I have left after ‘daily life’ has impacted it. My writing may follow suit. My whole life is a flowing and a balance. If I push myself too hard, I relapse. So I believe the fact that I *need* to write, when the desire and my energy intersect, is enough. (I’ve also found out that I really do not like being told what to do – especially by ‘experts’!)

    So in my humble opinion: yes, I agree, write because you can, and because you want to, not because of obligation or schedule.

    Hoping my rather long reply is useful, rather than just a rant lol. Look what you sparked! 😮 😉

    Like

  3. This post every writer should read. You have no idea how guilty I sometime feel when I don’t get to writing. Sometimes I can’t because of life, sometimes I just don’t feel like it, and when I’m having “you must write 24/7 or you’re not a real writer” shoved down my throat, I get discouraged. People write different ways, and just because they aren’t doing it every day doesn’t make them less a writer.

    Like

Speak, Wise One...

