Weaving Gold

Mokosha, Anastasia Sophia, and Me, Natalia . . . while the books are written

For all the Frimes

on February 24, 2016

Gelett Burgess Quote with Night Rainbow.jpg

As a writer, I harbor a small hope that my words will live forever, touching future generations. With the superabundance of books, blogs, tweets, and quips in existence, my dream seems unlikely. While others will take charge (or not) of my legacy, I can keep alive the words of my favorite authors.

220px-Gelett_BurgessFrank Gelett Burgess (January 30, 1866 – September 18, 1951) was an artist, art critic, poet, author, and humorist. He is best known as a writer of nonsense verse and the author of the still in-print Goops stories, books about manners, for kids.

The Goops they lick their fingers,
And the Goops they lick their knives,
They spill their broth on the tablecloth –
Oh, they lead disgusting lives!

He coined the term blurb and wrote his own dictionary.

Some excellent and useful words:

alibosh – glaringly obvious falsehood or exaggeration

drillig – a tiresome lingerer, one who talks too long

flooijab – an apparent compliment with a concealed sting

huzzlecoo – an intimate talk; a confidential colloquy

kipe – to inspect critically; to appraise pragmatically

cow’cat – a person whose main function is to occupy space

frime – an educated heart; one who deserves the right thing

I discovered Gelett Burgess through A Little Sister of Destiny, a book published in 1906 that I found in an antique store a century later. (Just discovered that it’s been republished this year. Highly recommended!) I loved it so much that I started a modern-day retelling of Miss Million’s tale. I hope to complete it one day.

 


010516_2129_writersquot1

#Writer’sQuoteWednesday & #BeWow 

7 responses to “For all the Frimes

  1. Oh, my goodness! I loved all the new words. What a fun quote. I totally get it too! I feel like my characters and my worlds are real. Who is to say they are not? As writers maybe we are more perceptive and have the ability to see what others cannot! Loved it! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love making up words, and love Gelett’s words. The dictionary is fun because he also writes humorous poems to go with the words.

    Like

  3. Thank you for introducing me to Frank Gelett Burgess. He was an interesting man. I admire anyone who writes their own dictionary. Some of these words are on point and fun. Love the quote!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. A quote to smile at and those words are fun. Some I have never seen before.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I remember reciting “The Goops” when I was a child. I haven’t thought of that in years. Thanks for the memory. I still know it off by heart. Great quote. It explains the laws of attraction.

    Liked by 1 person

Speak, Wise One...

