Weaving Gold

Mokosha, Anastasia Sophia, and Me, Natalia . . . while the books are written

Fantasy, or Magical Reality

on February 3, 2016

Bridge Quote, Paulo Coelho.jpg

Past lives. Parallel universes. Psychic phenomenon. To some, these are beliefs of the deluded and misguided. To others, they are inadequate descriptors of unseen forces at play in the universe.

Paranormal Phenomena in Fiction

How do we address metaphysical, mysterious occurrences in fiction? As a reader interested in awareness-expanding fiction, I enjoy the genres of Fantasy, Magical Realism, and Visionary Fiction — thought none of these fully encompasses of what I want to read, and what I’m writing.

 

The wish not to believe can influence as strongly as
the wish to believe.
~ Ian Stevenson, M.D.

Fantasy is described as being not scientifically feasible, and therein is my objection to calling Spinning Stardust (my WIP) fantasy. Science is a work in progress. There are many phenomena I’m not prepared to discard as unfeasible.

Reading is one of my favorite ways of crossing the bridge between the visible and invisible. I’d love to expand my reading list. What have you read that opened your mind to ideas that seem impossible?

I am compliling a list of scientific sources that validate metaphysical phenomenon, including past lives, parallel universes, and psychic abilities. If these topics interest you, please stop by and contribute.

It is not more surprising to be born twice than once;
everything in nature is resurrection.
~ Voltaire

 

010516_2129_writersquot1Inspired by:

Silver Threading #WQW Writer’s Quote Wednesday

Ronowan Writes #BeWoW Be Wonderful on Wednesday; Be Writing on Wednesday


Sources

There Is a Paranormal Activity Lab at the University of Virginia: Respected scientists are lending credibility to parapsychological research (FEB 10, 2014; The Atlantic)
by JAKE FLANAGIN

Ian Stevenson’s Case for the Afterlife: Are We ‘Skeptics’ Really Just Cynics? (NOV 2, 2013; Scientific American Blogs)
by Jesse Bering

5 responses to “Fantasy, or Magical Reality

  1. Oh, now you are talking about my favorite genre in the universe. “What IF?” I love your take on this and I agree with you about fantasy. I am not prepared to stop believing in all things magical. I recently read and reviewed a book called, “Catching Feathers in the Wind,” by Diane Hall. This might be a book right up your alley. It took my breath away. I am writing my own novel featuring a fantasy element – a fairy, or nymph to be more exact. By reading ancient myths, I believe we will find many answers to questions in our lives today. I LOVE this discussion and your quotes, especially this one: “The wish not to believe can influence as strongly as the wish to believe,” by Ian Stevenson, M.D. WOW! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Speak, Wise One...

