Weaving Gold

Mokosha, Anastasia Sophia, and Me, Natalia . . . while the books are written

Always Searching for Something

on February 1, 2016
brahmaputra-river-photography-sunset-assam-india-travel-tourism-3

Photo from Global Safari. Click to read about the image.

In the middle of the night, I am walking. My heart thuds and my limbs are lead-filled, hanging and dragging, as if detached from me. When I snap my head in the direction of errant noises, I see only trees shrouded in green mist.

I stumble through the maze of trunks. Branches snag my kirtle. I pull a long-bladed knife from my belt, and use it like a machete, slashing twigs and vines. Strands of cobwebs cling to my face despite my efforts to clear a path. An owl hoots and swoops over my head, swatting me with its wing. Forest rodents scamper over my feet. A lone lightning bug flashes its light, and the glimmer saves my dissipating sanity.

Urgency to identify my prize pushes me. I increase my pace. Almost running, I am suddenly slashing at nothing. The trees are behind me, and I see an expanse of water. The river is too wide to cross, and I know: what I search for is on the other side.


Written in response to FRIDAY FICTION with RONOVAN WRITES Prompt Challenge #11

  • Use the first line of one of your favorite song and begin your story with that line. (REQUIRED)
  • Word count of no more than 300.

Inspired by Billy Joel’s River of Dreams.

6 responses to “Always Searching for Something

  1. nearlywes says:

    Wow it’s such a small morsel of a story but it’s such a compelling piece. I mean through the first paragraph I had so many question, why was he there? What was he searching for? How long had he been out there? “A lone lightning bug flashes its light, and the glimmer saves my dissipating sanity.” I loved this line from it, it has such a big meaning behind it with such few words. Great job 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the compliments and generous feedback. This will be part of my novel-in-progress, so al shall be revealed.

    Like

  3. Ronovan says:

    Awesome. Enjoyed it a lot. The suspense and the anticipation are evident. I am wondering about one thing. The use of machete; I’m not familiar with your novel in progress so not sure of the setting, era or anything, but with the use of kirtle, I was wondering if machete fit in. It’s the only thing that pulled me out of the story, even the slightest bit.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. […] Always Searching for Something A Must Read Natalia Erehnah (Weaving Gold) A very strong entry and part of a novel in progress. Great suspense and sense of urgency. 170 words, 4.3 GL, and 0% passive sentence structure. Not a single grammar or spelling error of any sort, even stylistically acceptable errors. Impressive. @weavinggold […]

    Liked by 1 person

Speak, Wise One...

