Weaving Gold

Mokosha, Anastasia Sophia, and Me, Natalia . . . while the books are written

Remembering the Ancient Past

on January 19, 2016

old_clock_by_ami46.jpgI love Lizzy, but I hate when she speaks cool-girl vernacular. Yesterday, I risked looking foolish and relayed my swan goddess dream for her. She did not laugh at my grandiose idea of being a sacrifice. She nodded along, riveted, as I spoke, then said, “Ticks and tocks of eternal time, sink the spirits lower than wine.”

I’ve never understood idioms, colloquialisms, or clever phrases. My vocabulary base is sufficient, but wittiness baffles me. Worse, the confusion embarrasses and torments me. I can’t get her cryptic comment out of my head, especially since the bizzare dreams are intensifying in frequency of occurrence and sensations of realness. I recognize the authenticity of the events in my aching bones and racing heart. I can no longer deny what I’ve long suspected, but have been afraid to voice, even here, in the pages of my super-secret diary. The dreams are memories. (I shudder as I write the words.) They replay my evil deeds, force me to acknowledge the weaknesses that dwell within me, that are me.

Tick, tock. The hands of life’s clock move forward in daylight. In the night, they reverse, pulling me into my shameful, pathetic past. I am helpless to correct their direction.

I like to think that I am strong, but my past behavior reveals the truth: I am a coward. I act compassionate and kind, but I know that when tested, I will put my standing before the well-being of others. I want to believe that my actions and efforts drive my life, but I am on a run-away train piloted by destiny.


in response to FRIDAY FICTION with RONOVAN WRITES Prompt Challenge #9

The voice of Anastasia Sophia, writing in her Super-Secret Diary. Excerpt from Spinning Stardust.

 

One response to “Remembering the Ancient Past

  1. […] Remembering the Ancient Past Natalia Erehnah (Weaving Gold) A different take on the prompt. Using one of her characters to make an entry in her Super-Secret Diary from her work Spinning Stardust. 265 Words, 7.2 GL, and 0% Passive Sentences. @weavinggold […]

    Liked by 1 person

Speak, Wise One...

