Weaving Gold

Mokosha, Anastasia Sophia, and Me, Natalia . . . while the books are written

Abandoning a Book

on November 16, 2015

You are a Wild Thing, Natalia. You have strength and courage. You have a natural propensity to survive, grow, and bloom. But you must choose, Natalia. You must choose.
~ White Tiger’s message to me, one year ago

Menna van Praag‘s novels, House at the End of Hope Street and Dress Shop of Dreams, are similar in their magical, wish-granting themes to my WIP. Since Menna offers coaching, I scheduled a consultation. I sent her the first chapter of Zirka’s Zany Zenanigan’s, which I intended to finish during NaNo.

Professional Opinion

When Menna and I talked by Skype, she said that she liked my story, but that I would not be able to get an agent for the story as it is written. My main characters are happy and the book is structured as a series of short stories that are linked in the conclusion. She told me, quite clearly, how I would need to change the manuscript to sell it.

Some of the suggested changes were acceptable to me, but others were not. Minutes into our consult, I knew I would be putting the manuscript in a drawer. My decision was confirmed when Menna told me that if I did change the story and sell it, if the book were successful, the publisher would want me to write more of the same — which would be hugely problematic since my major WIP is completely different, and I don’t want to write anything else like Zirka.

Ultimately, I was RELIEVED after our consultation. The story had not been flowing. I had been feeling that it was not quite right. I want to get back to the Weaving Gold Chronicles.

Goodbye Zirka’s Zany Zennanigans. It was fun for a while, but now it is not, so you’re going in the drawer.

Hibernating 1

11 responses to “Abandoning a Book

  1. Kate Street says:

    Farewell, Zirka. I have a feeling we’ll be seeing you again one easy, effortless, effervescent day. ♥

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ouch, tough decision. But now you have room to move on.

    Like

  3. Trinity says:

    It’s a relief to make such a decision sometimes, isn’t it? It may simply be a matter of timing, or percolating, or changing the POV; but it will be most fulfilling to work on a project that’s on your heart; where your passion is, there readers will follow. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You can always self publish on Amazon an the other various platforms. No point wasting all that hard work. Others may like it. The critique circle is a great website to share your writing with other writers and get input on it as it goes along.

    Like

Speak, Wise One...

