Weaving Gold

Mokosha, Anastasia Sophia, and Me, Natalia . . . while the books are written

Eye of the Energy Shift Storm

on October 15, 2014

 


Soc_07 Eye of the Storm by ~ShadowOfSolace on DeviantArt

It has often been said that the only unchanging thing in the world is change itself. We are standing at an intersection of old energy and new, and I feel as if I’m in the eye of the storm. Everything is spinning wildly around me. I can step into the whirl, become agitated, and feel the thrill and terror of the twister. Or, I can rest in the stillness at the center. There are times when either might be the most inspired choice.

In times of upheaval, I find it helpful to reflect on already-survived unsettling times and to acknowledge that every event brought me to the wonderful place I am now, both literally and metaphorically.


In 2009, my family moved to Wisconsin. For the first time in 11 years, I was home alone consistently, for hours at a time. As part of my attempt to start a business, I was listening to a tele-seminar. The guest speaker suggested writing a book to establish expertise. As ludicrous as the idea of writing a book for such a purpose sounded, the words “write a book” illuminated the proverbial lightbulb over my head. I didn’t hear another word he said, because my mind was flooded with ideas and brightness.

The next day, a Facebook friend, a woman who lived down the street from me, shared a post about a WriteShop hosted by Julie Tallard Johnson. Julie was unknown to me, but the advertisement invited writers in all stages of writing a book to attend. And so, I did. I was the only attendee who did not have a well-formed book concept or a work in progress. All I knew was that I wanted to write something about the awesomeness of autistic people.

A few weeks later, Julie hosted another WriteShop. She described the effort and process of writing a book as a Hero’s Journey. Another new-to-me concept, the phases of the hero’s journey were a perfect framework for my journey of parenting. As she spoke, I wrote furiously in my journal. By the end of the session, I had the outline of my book. The book would not be about autistic people. Those were not my stories to tell. The book would be about the transformative journey of parenting children who are much different than the children I had expected.

And that is the story of the birth of Swan Mothers: Discovering Our True Selves by Parenting Uniquely Magnificent Children. Cover Image


In researching the metaphor I chose for this post, I discovered that the eye of the storm forms a round, cylindrical shape that extends up and above the actual storm like a tube and can be 20 to 40 miles wide. The suction action produced by the eye gives form and structure to the hurricane. In addition to transferring warm air pockets from the upper atmosphere to the eyewall, return air pockets make their way from the eyewall back into the eye. These return pockets absorb additional moisture from the ocean surface and, in effect, return to the eyewall to further raise the storm’s temperature.

My metaphor grants me understanding. While I am pinned in place by this energy shift storm, I have room to maneuver in a large area of peace and tranquility. Even when I feel isolated, constrained, and detained, the goodness of the ocean comes to me, in small, manageable packets. I have an escape route, up and out — as soon as I learn to levitate, apperate, or fly.


 

from OSHO’s Zen Tarot

Inspired by Lyn Thruman‘s October Writing Challenge: Writing the Wisdom of the Soul. I am expanding, evolving, shaking in my shoes, and preparing to write for pleasure.

 

Prompt for October 15: The Wheel of Fortune reminds us that we’re all part of a mysterious universe and how circumstances and fortune are always in motion. The Wheel of Fortune makes synchronicities happen.

Write about a time when you’ve felt that the Universe has helped you along your destiny. 

Speak, Wise One...

