Weaving Gold

Mokosha, Anastasia Sophia, and Me, Natalia . . . while the books are written

Striptease

on February 13, 2014
I shall shed
the labels that define me:
   mother.
   wife.
   writer.

I shall slither out of the accolade-titles
that make me cringe:
   nice girl.
   hard worker.
   good mother.

I shall strip away the designations that were my armor
that made me proud:
   homeopath.
   published author.
   homeschool teacher.

I shall obliterate 
the marks of my shame:
   lazy.
   unproductive.
   business failure.

I will stand
   naked,
   exposed,
   revealed,
Not caring who sees, 
     or who evokes their own version of me.
Not caring who hears
     or who translates me into the woman they prefer to hear.
Not caring who perceives me,
     and who sees herself.

I shall
   see My Self.
   hear My Self.
   acknowledge My Self.

I am revealed.
Nothing concealed.

I am.

That is enough.
7 responses to “Striptease

  1. Kate Street says:

    Omg, I LOVE this and got so many chills reading it! A RESOUNDING YES FROM ME! And a resounding ME TOO!!! I absolutely love this poem ~ and the title is PERFECT! Send this into We’moon (do you know them?). This needs to be in next year’s calendar. It’s PERFECT!

    Like

  2. Rhea says:

    I love this, Natalia. Especially the acknowledgement of those responses we don’t control, “or who evokes their own version of me, or who translates me into the woman they prefer to hear, who sees herself” – Love, love, love.

    Like

  3. Liz S. says:

    Absolutely lovely and inspiring! I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately, the layers of identities that we wear, and why we hold on to them so desperately. And how letting go of them is probably the key to my happiness, if only I could figure out how…

    Like

  4. Wow. Shivers. For real.

    Like

Speak, Wise One...

